The Ultimate Event Guide for the FrankfurtRhineMain Metropolitan Region
July 2024
  • Mo
  • Tu
  • We
  • Th
  • Fr
  • Sa
  • Su

Cinema Culture Award 2018 for 21 Hessian cinemas

15.10.2018 | 12:04 Clock | Culture
Cinema Culture Award 2018 for 21 Hessian cinemas

On Friday, 12.10.2018, Hessian cinemas were again honored at the Hessian Film and Cinema Awards in the Alte Oper in Frankfurt: 11 times the Hessian Cinema Culture Award was given to a commercial cinema, 10 times to a municipal cinema. "The annual applications for the Hessian Cinema Culture Awards reflect the colourful spectrum of the Hessian cinema landscape: student cinemas, rural cinemas, cinemas with a special focus or the municipal cinemas. What distinguishes them all together are the creative cinema operators, programme designers, theatre managers and the dedicated teams behind them." Says the jury statement.

Happily, the endowments were increased for the first time since the award's inception. A total of 150,000 <x>Ampersand</x>euros; came up for distribution, 55,000 <x>ampersand</x>euros; more than in previous years. Among commercial cinemas, the top prizes of 20,000 &euros each; went to Licher Kino Traumstern and Capitolkino Witzenhausen. Two venues in rural regions that impressed the jury "with their high level of passionate commitment and their great love for cinema, and this despite the fact that they have more difficult conditions due to their local situation". With 15,000 &euro; each, the Frankfurt cinemas Mal seh&acute;n Kino and Orfeo&acute;s Erben follow.

among non-commercial cinemas, Kommunale Kino Weiterstadt, TRAUMAkino Marburg and Filmforum Höchst (Frankfurt) each received 5,000 &euros; the highest sums. 3,000 &euro; each went to the Kino im Filmmuseum Frankfurt and the two Wiesbaden film theaters Caligari FilmBühne and Murnau Kino.

In addition to the cinemas, special films and outstanding acting performances were also honored that evening. And these are the winners:

Fiction category

Arthur & Claire (Germany 2018, 95 minutes)

Directed by Miguel Alexandre | Prize money: 25.000 Euro

Category Documentary

The Oppenheimer File (Germany 2018, 60 minutes)

Directed by: Dr. Ina Knobloch | Prize money: 15.000 Euro

Category Short Film

Menschenjagd (Germany 2018, 19 minutes)

Directed by: Peter Meister | Prize money: 5.000 Euro

Category University Film

Appalachian Holler (Germany 2018, 29 min.)

Director: Matthias Lawetzky | Hochschule für Gestaltung Offenbach| Prize money: 7.500 Euro


Wolf of Kassel

Writers: Kristl Philippi and Klaus Stern | Prize money: 7.500 Euro

Special Award

Bad Banks (Germany 2018, 6x52 minutes)

Directed by: Christian Schwochow | Produced by. Lisa Blumenberg (Letterbox Filmproduktion)

Winner of the 2018 Hessian Television Award

.Best Actress

Lena Urzendowsky in "The Great Rudolph"

ARD 2018, Director: Alexander Adolph

Best Actor

Thomas Schmauser in "The Great Rudolph"

ARD 2018, Director: Alexander Adolph

For all further info please visit: <link http: hessischer-film-und-kinopreis.html _blank>

More News