The Ultimate Event Guide for the FrankfurtRhineMain Metropolitan Region
September 2023
  • Mo
  • Tu
  • We
  • Th
  • Fr
  • Sa
  • Su

Hessian Film and Cinema Award 2017 - The Nominees

23.09.2017 | 09:58 Clock | Culture
Hessian Film and Cinema Award 2017 - The Nominees

Special awards to Ulrich Tukur and Jasna Fritzi Bauer

It will be a Friday the 13th - but one that will not be an unlucky day for numerous filmmakers. Because on October 13, the Hessian Film and Cinema Prize will be awarded for the 28th time. Then the best cinema and TV productions with a direct connection to Hessen, but also scripts and cinemas in Hessen will be awarded. The nominees, as well as the winners of the new Newcomer Award and the Honorary Award of the Minister President have now been announced. The latter is awarded to the actor, musician and writer Ulrich Tukur, who was born in Viernheim, Hesse. Not only does he repeatedly provide dream ratings and very special crime evenings as the Hessian Tatort commissioner, but with Bernhard Grzimek, the legendary animal filmmaker and long-time director of the Frankfurt Zoo, he has also believably embodied one of the very great personalities of our region. "Ulrich Tukur is a great actor and a great award winner," said Minister of Arts and Culture Boris Rhein, "and we are delighted to be able to experience this award ceremony with him." If the decision had been up to him, Rhein said, it would have been up to Tukur.

In fact, Rhein's decision was the first recipient of the newly created Newcomer Award. Honored is Jasna Fritzi Bauer, born in the state capital Wiesbaden, who has already been able to inspire in several feature films ("Ein Tick anders", "Axolotl Overkill") and TV productions such as the Frankfurt-TATORT "Land in dieser Zeit". In 2014, the young actress was already nominated for the Hessian Film and Cinema Award as best actress for her role in the feature film "Scherbenpark". This year she can now take home an honorary award endowed with 7500 euros.

The other award winners are not yet known, but the nominations are. And these are in the king categories:


Forwards Always (Director: Franziska Maletzky)

Only God Can Judge Me (Director: Özgür Yildirim)

East Wind - Departure to Ora (Director: Katja von Garnier


Wonders of Reality (Director: Thomas Frickl)

Moritz Daniel Oppenheim (Director: Isabel Gathof)

A Gravame - The Steelworks, Death, Maria and the Mothers of Tamburi (Director: Peter Rippl)


Corinna Harfouch ("Much Too Close")

Tijan Marei ("Ella's Baby")

Caroline Peters ("Cold is Fear")


Jens Harzer ("Tatort - Amour fou")

Ernst Stötzner ("Charité")

Manfred Zapatka ("Sanft schläft der Tod")

These and all other awards will be presented at a grand gala at the Alte Oper on 13. October. Presenter Jochen Schropp, who was born in Giessen, will be in charge of the ceremony. The show program will feature dancers from the Stage & Musical School Frankfurt, where Helene Fischer also trained, and singer Cassandra Stehen. Everything important about the award ceremony can then be seen in a special broadcast with Holger Weinert on hr-TV - and of course we will also tell you about the winners of this year's Hessian Film and Cinema Award

More News


Partner-Tipps für Frankfurt & Umgebung

Empfehlungen von Partnern und Firmen aus oder für die Region.